Should I Close down or Keep Trying to Sell?

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by Gm Raining, Feb 2, 2020.

1. Gm Raining

Gm Raining
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I run a series of medical clinics and I am a doctor myself. All 4 of them are spaced in nearby towns, while the other is about a 5 hour drive away from the others. While three of them are doing quite well, (let's call them location A, B, and C) one is doing really bad (location D), especially due to its poor visibility and location. To be clear, location D, the one that is doing bad is one of the clinics that IS close to the others.

I am a doctor and the owner, and I could easily bring in patients and be fully booked out every day. I have doing this for more than a year now and the stress is getting to me. The problem is finding another doctor to come in to this location. I am loosing money by keeping location D running, as even if I see patients booked out each day (bulk billing practice) there are more expenses.

To make situations worse, it turns out the lease that was signed was a horrible one. I'm talking 15+ years (I know it's bad!). The price I am paying monthly is absolutely ridiculous, and when I signed I really thought doctors would be lining up to work here, I was wrong.

I have attempted to negotiate with the landlord, but every time I call or schedule a meeting its always his agent that shows up on his behalf. Despite this I managed to bring down the lease price by around 20%.

Even with this slight reduction, I am still loosing large amounts of money by keeping this clinic running. I have thought of just closing the whole thing down, so then I would only be paying for the lease, instead of the lease + other expenses such as doctor/software/electricity fees, reception wages, etc.

I have attempted to sell with more than 6 people coming in to have a look and everything but nobody is serious. What are some sites I could try selling on?