your help: negotiating a good percentage

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by thedusen, Aug 8, 2012.

1. thedusen

thedusen
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hey all,

So I'm in an interesting position... one that I have no experience with.

I currently work with a 2-man business as a marketer/copywriter/programmer/jack of all trades. I pitched them an idea for a completely new business project where I would do and run everything. They basically are supplying the infrastructure and some of the licensing agreements that would make it possible. They're into it, but want my terms for my compensation. I have no experience with this... so any advice would be more than welcome. They're nice guys and we get along famously. But obviously they're interested in making money first and foremost. Here is my current thought:

Given that I'd be doing all the work (they can focus on other things completely), I'd be doing something they couldn't do on their own, and the growth potential is impressive, my instinct was to ask for 25% of the net profit from this venture, arrived in stages (performance based) starting at 15%.

Any thoughts/advice/recommendations?

Thanks!

M

2. ArcSine

ArcSine
    uix_expand uix_collapse

It's unfortunately difficult to advise on percentages without seeing and evaluating every element in the picture, as profit-split issues turn on a large number of situational-specific details. Instead I'll end-run that question and toss in a couple of points that might be helpful a bit...