Work at Home Bookkeeper & Accountant *that's my goal anyway*

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by Texas, Feb 27, 2012.

1. Texas

Texas
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello,
    I have been a stay at home mom for 11 years with periods of work scattered throughout. Nothing worth mentioning really. I have always wanted to be a business owner. I have my bachelors degree in business management, graduated in '06. I have not furthered my education past that for many reasons but I am ready now to head in a very specific direction!!
    A part-time bookkeeping, secretary, office manager job landed in my lap recently and I am loving it!! The owner of this small business, her finances are a disaster!! She is so busy running her business, creating and making the sales and staying on track with her home life that the bookkeeping has been slack for several years now. I am so glad she hired me, and she has said over and over again how glad she is to have me. At this time I am not an expert in bookkeeping but that is my goal!!
    I want to become an accountant and provide accounting and bookkeeping help to small businesses. I believe this to be a place that many small businesses need affordable assistance in. My goal will be to provide as much work for them from home and to actually bid for their account.

• I would LOVE to hear learn from experienced bookkeepers & accountants and get their thoughts & ideas.
    • I would LOVE to hear from business owners of EVERY kind to hear what their needs are as I am still in my planning & education phase of this goal.
    • What do small businesses currently pay for accounting and bookkeeping servies? Or what can your small business afford?
    • Are there any concerns with home based bookkeeping that business owners have?
    • Is there one software that works across the board for businesses or do bookkeepers learn/keep various software to manage different businesses?