Why I don’t get SEO

Discussion in 'Search Engine Optimization' started by dexterallen01, May 13, 2010.

1. dexterallen01

dexterallen01
    uix_expand uix_collapse

“Why I don’t get SEO?” Would Social Network Marketing and Content replace SEO sometime?

I have been routinely checking out Boagworld.com and their work has impressed me greatly. There was an article on the topic “Why I don’t get SEO” on the weekly web developers pod posted by Paul Boag. You can checkout the article under the marketing category on BoagWorld.com as I can’t post the link since I am new to it.
    Paul has indicated that he doesn’t feel that SEO is that vital and he hasn’t kept his opinions about SEO being highly overrated a secret and has also suggested that it is a money making solution for a certain few elite personnel.

In the board room, CEO’s have been normally looking at “SEO” as the Holy Grail in attaining success in their websites probably due to the three letter resemblance.
    Numerous points have been made by Paul in the blog:

1. No guarantees to a continuous investment
    SEO is more or less a lucky draw business that needs constant investments to be in the same position unlike a newspaper (PPC advertising too) where the volume of readers and its distribution area is known.

With comparisons to a newspaper he makes a strong statement about it involving an ad to be bought “but being given no guarantee as to what page it will appear on or how big the ad will be” that implies something that you wouldn’t go for normally.

2. This is manipulation of the system

Another thing that figures on Google’s watch list that he is also concerned about is that the system is being controlled by SEO. Your wildest dream of beating Google with its own rules where no algorithm will be able to hold them back is something that SEO companies will offer you. It’s just my thinking, but such a claim by any company would have me reaching for the door.