Where should I go from here?

Discussion in 'Self Improvement and Being Successful' started by jelie3110, Jan 28, 2011.

1. jelie3110

jelie3110
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello everyone,
    i am in a little bit of a pickle right now. I want to leave my current job because there is just no more room for advancement there. I have been with the same employer for eleven years. I grew up in Sweden and the problem is that a lot of colleges where only offering two year degree's, so I have an AA in Business administration. I have extensive background in dental sales and have been told that I have a wonderdul, bubbly and energetic personality and that "I can sell ice to an eskimo". My question to you all is: how important is your degree if you bring experience and the right attitude?

2. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

jelie3110 I would say that at this stage in your career, your skills and experience are much more important than having a degree. The ability to sell is a very valued skill and it is one that is most valued by employers. Have you considered the option of working as a representative for a company that sells products to dentists?

3. hetalhet

hetalhet
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hey jelie3110 nice to meet you here..

I am also agree with what Fergal said. As you said you are having quite a strong back ground and experience with 11 years, so it is much more powerful than degree/ Degree matters mostly at the start of career, but it is not your case..The skills and values that you have created is much more beneficial to your career.

4. jelie3110

jelie3110
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Thank you both, makes me feel a whole lot better:) When it comes to putting together a resume, do you have any tips on how to write a resume basad on my life experiences rather than focusing on my education.

5. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member