What's the title for someone who provides support for all departments?

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by Jaymie005, Jul 11, 2014.

1. Jaymie005

Jaymie005
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I've been working as a call-center agent with my company for around 6 months now. In that time, I've gained several types of recognition for my success with sales. However, I applied to the company for one purpose, to ladder climb. The company caught my eye because they are expanding, which means more job opportunities available. New positions are being created from sheer need caused by the companies growth. I've already earned the trust of upper management, and I'm allowed to perform tasks that typically agents are not allowed to do. I was flat out told by my department head that he needs an assistant and that when the job is created, it's mine. I'm extremely appreciative of his trust in me and will happily take the job when it becomes available. However, what I truly want is to create a job for myself within this company.

I'm not a leader-type personality (although I can and have stepped up to the plate when needed, but it's just not something I enjoy doing). I love organization and development. I love supporting people with whatever they need help with and I don't shy away from hard work. What I truly want is free rein (or the closest thing to free rein) to be a jack-of-all trades that supports and facilitates each department within my company. I want to help department C with their new project. I want to get department B caught up on something they've fallen behind on. I want to cover a manager in department D while he's on vacation.