What's the best way to network?

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by Mountain Man, Jul 16, 2010.

1. Mountain Man

Mountain Man
    uix_expand uix_collapse

After starting my business 1 year ago As a communications technician I find doing the work to be the easiest part of my job.
    What I am struggling with is how to find the work. I work in a technical service industry and most work is through word of mouth, so I carry business cards everywhere. I have a few local ads as well and a web presents, but I am not seeing the customers I would like.
    The frustrating thing is I know they are out there and they don't have anyone looking after the communications systems.
    Any suggestions would be more then welcome.

2. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

What country or state is your business based in Mountain Man?

Try joining some local business networks in your area, such as your local Chamber of Commerce. This will help you to meet other local business owners and to communicate what you do, to them. You could also consider writing some articles for your local newspaper or being interviewed on your local radio station. The aim here is to become associated as a communications technician. If you are successful with this, your potential customers will automatically think of you, when they have a problem in this area.

Something else you could do is to use your expertise to help out local charities. They will be glad of any free help they can get and again this will help you build your local profile and to become associated with the type of work you do.

Good luck with it and please post back with your thoughts and questions.

3. Mountain Man

Mountain Man
    uix_expand uix_collapse