What to do when not getting a reply from a potential client?

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by cesquivel, Apr 9, 2013.

1. cesquivel

cesquivel
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Good morning everyone.

I am a freelance translator EN-SPA-EN for several types of documents in Colombia, South America. I specialize in legal, medical and pharmaceutical documents.

I worked for 4 years as a Staff Translator for this very prestigious company engaged in the business of English teaching and supplemental services but quit a couple of months ago because of a huge pay cut I was just not willing to take.

The biggest and most important client I had while working over there was a Worldwide Class Pharmaceutical Company whose Latin America HQ is here in my city (The main business is in USA) and I worked translating highly specialized documents on a daily basis for them for the last two years. They were always very pleased with my work and I actually closed the business with the Commercial Director although there never was a formal agreement in writing or anything other than a confidentiality agreement to protect their information.

When I quit, the following day I sent this Client an e-mail letting them know I was no longer part of the English teaching company I first mentioned, I thanked them for entrusting me with their translation needs during those two years, apologized for any inconvenience that would cause and offered to continue providing my service as a freelancer of course giving them better rates for their translation needs so I asked for an appointment.

The Client sent me read receipts but never replied to my e-mail. I waited two more weeks and sent them another e-mail asking for the appointment once more and letting them know I would like to find out whether they were interested in receiving my services in order to plan ahead and let's say "reserve time" to deliver the services so I wouldn't compromise most of my time with other customers.