What to do... sort of confused...

Discussion in 'Self Improvement and Being Successful' started by Bakalicious, Jul 23, 2011.

1. Bakalicious

Bakalicious
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Well, I'm a graduate of BASc, Bachelor of Applied Science for those who don't know, and I'm pursuing a MEng, Master of Engineering, where both is in the Chemical Engineering department.

I have never worked before but I have done some volunteering before. Back in high school, I did many event helping. This summer, I helped out in research/experimenting with a professor. But overall, my resume is rather empty and my working experience is nil.

What should I do now? I have several options. I'm already trying to find a part time like receptionist, admin assistant, or entry level positions. But not much success, or I can go into like sales/retail and food industry which I do not like. I dislike those tryhard sales and don't exactly want to become one. Then there are those jobs where the employer provide training and education for those mortgage, mutual funds, insurance licenses and require no experience. I'm one of those idiots who get convinced into those things rather than doing the convincing. So to be honest, I don't think it suits me. But it only cost like 50-100 dollars to apply and get the license and it'll make my resume... a little longer. Its still no experience but shows more knowledge. Ughhh I'm so confused.

2. Clint Cora

Clint Cora
    uix_expand uix_collapse

For those who don't have a lot of employment history, it's important to showcase what you've achieved through volunteer activities. Focus on skills used for these successes. Activities from volunteer positions to demonstrate skills are important. If you can't find job opps, even part time in the fields of your choice, try to do volunteer positions in the same fields. Experience is experiences, even if you didn't get paid.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Gary Barzel

Gary Barzel
    uix_expand uix_collapse