What law governs a website?

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by mikewelsh, Jun 8, 2011.

1. mikewelsh

mikewelsh
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I heard that the law that governs a website is based on the country the website's server is hosted. Is that true?

2. PaulPinnacle

PaulPinnacle
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I'm not a legal professional and this is not qualified legal advice. It's a mixture of opinion and experience, so take it all with a huge caveat attached.

It somewhat depends on the site in question. As an Irish business, for example, I must comply with the relevant legislation here in Ireland for my own site regardless of where that site is hosted. So even if I'm with a US host, as an Irish business I'm still bound by the requirements of the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement (ODCE) here in Ireland, along with whatever additional requirements may be placed on me due to the location of the hosting and the jurisdictional rules there. Depending on your own circumstances (commercial or personal site, your local jurisdiction and related regulations, location of customers you're serving local vs. global, etc.) a similar situation may arise, so it's not simply a question of where it's hosted.