what does it mean to sell a percentage of a business

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by dsdsdsdsd, Apr 5, 2011.

1. dsdsdsdsd

dsdsdsdsd
    uix_expand uix_collapse

hello;

I am not in a position to create a business structure that is qualified to sell proper shares: I'm a web developer, not a business administrator ... to create/administer a limited liability coorp is beyond me.

However, I would like to raise money from family/friends for further developing my prototype to a commercial-ready product.

Ideally, I would like to offer a percentage of my non-existing business in return for an investment: maybe .25% for $1000, up to $25000.

But what does this mean? Would Aunt Mildred receive .25% of revenue every month?

I suppose that in the future these percentages could be converted to actual shares? How does a company equate percentages with shares?

thanks,
    Shannon

2. ArcSine

ArcSine
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Shannon, those percentages generally refer to a % of some number associated with your cash flows or your book profits. What that number is, and how it's to be defined, is determined on a case-by-case basis. You and your investors have a lot of leeway in defining your deal terms, so don't feel that "percentage of a business" means one and only one thing.

You could, for example, offer each investor a % of your net cash flow (cash revenues received, minus all cash expenses paid). Alternatively, you could offer a % of the "top line" (your revenues; so named because Sales / Revenues are traditionally the top line of an income statement; contrast to "bottom line" which is net profit after deducting all expenses).