What business can I start with low start up costs?

Discussion in 'Starting a Business' started by TheConnect, Jul 10, 2011.

1. TheConnect

TheConnect
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I'm currently in law school, but don't want to wait to get out to start something. I have a business undergrad degree and always wanted to start my own business. I'm thinking some internet based business would be the way to go now, possibly setting up something site that generates traffic and trying to get advertisers to purchase space. I hear that you should form your business around something you love. I have interests in sports (basketball and football); I enjoy reading blogs; selfhelp/psychology; music (hiphop-R&B mostly), etc. Does anyone have any idea of what kind of business I may start that may incorportate any of these areas that has relatively low start up costs (I would also appreciate ideas that have high start up costs for the future though). Thanks in advance

2. JBMedia

JBMedia
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi and welcome to BAF Forums TheConnect.

To be honest, for what you're implying so far, it seems your best bet would to create and start publishing a blog of your own. Generally blogs are the types of sites that you base your interest based niches around and sell ad space with. Another option is to open your own community! Or in other words, your own forum. You can also provide the same type of content around an interest-based niche and sell advertisements as well.

Hope that helps a little bit.

• Like Like x 1
  3. TheConnect

TheConnect
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Yes it does help. I thought of opening my own forum, but I am wondering how profitable it is to make one and how to distinguish myself from the rest of the forums to try to maximize off of the forum

4. JBMedia

JBMedia
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Here's the thing with online ventures: