Wedding Videographer

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by Tazbo, Feb 13, 2012.

1. Tazbo

Tazbo
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi,

I am a part time wedding videographer. After a long search I have found a shooter with similar camera experience to me and would like to work with me. He does not currently shoot weddings so I want to tie him into a contract where he can only shoot weddings with. Can this be done and what is the best way to approach it? Do I need to start a company and make him an employee or are there other ways?

Thanks

2. JPM

JPM
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi Tazbo,

Welcome to BAF. What country are you based in?

3. Tazbo

Tazbo
    uix_expand uix_collapse

England :)

4. gmichel

gmichel
    uix_expand uix_collapse

hi,

that is difficult task, I do not think a contract would do.
    A partnership would be the only thing, I think, that would work.
    If you have the same experience, combined together, you can make more business.

I hoe this helps.

Michel

5. Business Attorney

Business Attorney
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

I'm not a UK lawyer, so I stand ready to be corrected, but exclusive contracts are fairly common throughout the world. I would be surprised to find that you couldn't hire an independent contractor in a particular area conditioned upon his agreement that he would exclusively provide a particular type of service to you.

• Like Like x 1
  6. Shahrier

Shahrier
    uix_expand uix_collapse