Using multiple keywords

Discussion in 'Search Engine Optimization' started by alextroat, Jul 13, 2010.

1. alextroat

alextroat
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I am really new to the SEO field and am learning new things by the day. I made some real progress today as I used two very similar keywords in the same article. A friend suggested that I make two similar articles rather than one with both the phrases. He said this will prevent Google from being confused as to which phrase I wished to rank for. It somehow made sense to me. Now I want to know why Google won’t rank the same article for using both keywords as it would rank an article for using only one?

#1 alextroat, Jul 13, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2010
  2. yourmapmaker

yourmapmaker
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi,

You need to separate our what you term 'rank' to where you appear in search results as they mean 2 different things.

I'm not fully clear on what you mean but you can of course write a single article that contains similar and related terms. These terms should be follow anchor links to your site or to specific pages on your website too.

Adding 2 articles is of course good too so long as you don't duplicate content. It really depends on the terms in question.

For example. Lets say I do web design. If I write an article and my similar words are Website Design and Web page Design I'd be better writing a single article and using these and other related words.

Hope that helps
    Regards

3. forum.wedost.com

forum.wedost.com
    uix_expand uix_collapse

If you will use one keyword then it will Ranked good. Also, with two keywords the rank will be good but overall rank of one keyword will be more than using two keywords.

4. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member