US Resident operating "" in Australia

Discussion in 'Website Development & Design' started by sethryan, Oct 22, 2009.

1. sethryan

uix_expand uix_collapse

Oct 22, 2009

Background Info:

I am a US resident working for a .com company here in the states. It is a small family business with turnover/sales of around 1.5 million annually. There are eight employees and it is operating as an LLC, entirely over the internet. We do not have a store front, offices, property, or even a phone line.

The question:

I want to know what it will take to expand our business to Australia. Yes, in theory, we are a .com company and can reach users globally. But I want to promote the business on the ground level and deploy marketing efforts in Australia (myself) and register our domain name to follow suit. I understand that I need an Australian Business Number (ABN) and a Tax File Number (TFN) in order to apply for our domain name (Australian government requires these items before you can register a domain name).