Tax Planning

Discussion in 'Accounting and Taxes' started by jnjsarauer, Nov 23, 2007.

1. jnjsarauer

jnjsarauer
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Even as a small business owner, I have always done my own taxes. I am wondering if it would be a good idea for me to go to a professional now, prior to the end of the year, to see if there are still some things I could be doing to cut my tax liability for the year. Do you do your taxes yourself or hire a pro? If you do hire a professional, do you feel they save you money in the long run by finding tax cuts you may miss on your own?

2. raketeer_mom

raketeer_mom
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I will probably hire a tax pro to save time. Filing is a very time consuming job. And the pros have their contacts already in the office so they do not have to fall in-line every time the will file for your taxes.

3. rockage

rockage
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I think that if you can afford to, going with a tax agent is the better choice. They know where to look for tax cuts, and they probably are experienced. If you can't afford one, I recommend using a program called taxcut pro. It's really been a great help for my personal use.

4. yen

yen
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Well, it depends how big your business is. My father started with a small business with turnover of less than 100k per year. However, years later when the figure is much more than that, he started to engage third party consultants to advice on how to save on the taxes and accountant to help on the year end accounting.

5. zerzis

zerzis
    uix_expand uix_collapse

i always think you should be the one who decide where you money should go. If youy dont know about tax saving then learn it! There are some tax saving instruments like government bonds and also some ELSS funds (Equity Linked saving schemes - these are mutual funds with tax saving benifitt). Just read some articles from internet and take help from your friends.. you will know how to save tax. Good luck.