Startup Business Structure

Discussion in 'Starting a Business' started by eattrig, Mar 6, 2012.

1. eattrig

eattrig
    uix_expand uix_collapse

My wife and I are trying to decide the best method to open a home-based business (or businesses). I am currently employed as a software engineer and I have been writing software on the side since 2009 (iPhone apps) from our home. I will keep my job, but I would like to make my software business legit. Also, my wife has recently entered into a contract as an independent sales consultant for a major gift bag seller. She is currently a homemaker but would also like her business to be legit.

We've read quite a bit about small business, but we can't decide whether it's smarter to open one sole proprietorship, two sole proprietorships, a partnership, or a qualified joint venture. We won't have employees or inventory (her sales go directly through the seller's website, and mine are more of a service), and our risk level is very low, so we believe the LLC and corporation routes are unnecessary. Our businesses are completely unique and likely won't share any resources, so we're thinking one sole proprietorship is probably out of the question, too. And since our marriage is already a "partnership", we're thinking two sole proprietorships is the correct route, but we need some guidance. We live in Texas, which is a community property state, and we've read some things regarding being able to start a co-sole proprietorship.

We have many, many other questions, but we'll start with the most important one - what type of business(es).

Thank you very much in advance.

#1 eattrig, Mar 6, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2012
  2. ThirdSEO

ThirdSEO
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Texas, my home state! Such a great state...