Starting Business and Shipping Problem.

Discussion in 'Starting a Business' started by AKang47, Nov 14, 2011.

1. AKang47

AKang47
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi, well I'm new to business since I'm only 14 years old, but anyways.

I currently dropship some products to my eBay customers, but I'm looking to increase my profit.

I'm into fixed gear bicycles and they are really popular right now.

I wanted to order some from China and maybe set up a brick and mortar store
    (not online since shipping bikes is too expensive) or something on Craigslist, where I can have them pick it up.

However, the bike costs $185 and shipping is $175. With that cost in total, I will barely make any profit. Are there any ways I can negotiate or get cheaper shipping from China to U.S?

Also, can you recommend me some ways to sell my product? I'm going to set up a website and get some SEO done on it but is it hard to set up a small business?

Thanks.

2. BusinessStories

BusinessStories
    uix_expand uix_collapse

To get cheaper shipping, see if you can't get a bulk deal (ship a bunch at a time) This will most likely save you money.

As far as starting a business goes, there are several forms you need to fill out and get approved. You need a seller's license, city business license, county business license, and state business license.
    You can hire a business adviser for $200 to do all of the paperwork.

3. sallya121

sallya121
    uix_expand uix_collapse

The chapest ship is by sea.If you can buy more ,of course the cost of shippment is less.

4. James Greg

James Greg
    uix_expand uix_collapse