Starting a film production company

Discussion in 'Starting a Business' started by Telephoto, Dec 11, 2011.

1. Telephoto

Telephoto
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello everyone,

I am just starting out in this "business world" I don't know much about business I won't say that I do. I know how I can do some smaller advertising in my area, but as for large scale marketing/advertising I don't know how.

If anyone can help me out here are some issues I am facing which are the biggest issues.

-Picking a company name, I checked trademark registration and WI business name search, the name of what I want my company doesn't show up, but the website is taken.
    -I don't know how to go about getting loans and grants.
    -I am trying to learn, but a lot of this business help programs really are confusing to me.
    -I have been doing videography for 2-3 years now freelancing, it's difficult to market myself despite my skillset. (Winning awards for best film/Making international television through contests on Satellite tv/local news etc...) I feel like I can use this to my advantage some how.
    -I haven't made much money doing this though, so I sell things online to keep afloat so to speak.
    -I want to expand to states next to me as well, but I don't know how I can do that and since I haven't had regular jobs how much more difficult will it be to get loans and grants? I am guessing much harder.
    -I would just goto an attorney but honestly I just don't have that sort of money at the moment unless I use grant money to pay for them, which would kind of nullify the point of the company funding probably.
    -How much are taxes yearly assuming I make little to nothing, just for owning the name? Also to have it trademarked/buying the name in the State of WI.
    -If it's just me do I want LLC/LLP/Corporation? If I plan on having people help me out once in awhile on shoots, but nothing "official" what do I name it? Also I'll be working from my home.