Starting a design firm - help?

Discussion in 'Starting a Business' started by SethDamien, Dec 27, 2015.

1. SethDamien

SethDamien
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello, im a newly licensed Architect.

I've been thinking of starting my own firm, and i have a business plan - a partnership with real estate brokers/agencies to refer me to their clients.

In return, i'll give them 20% commission rate for their referral depending on the size of a project.

In this case, i might as well be an investor.. lol

I also think investing on the real estate is a good idea as land value is going up and construction is booming and i need as much referrals as i can get... but i also need your opinion on this.

Is it too aggressive? The conventional way of architects getting clients is to wait for clients to come to them.

Sitting and waiting is simply not an option for me.
    Sorry for being a little bit too idealistic on this, but what is your take on the matter?

2. CorporateViking

CorporateViking
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Community Liaison 1.0

Depends on your own financial stability. When your running a business, your job is to mitigate risk as the business can only live so long as it can afford to make the mistakes it will make. If you have the money extra to invest in projects regardless of the maker, ok then. It might be for you. If you NEED to make the money back, absolutely DO NOT invest in your own projects. Investing = Always High Risk, you can loose some or all of your money. Always. No one can legally tell you different (Thanks to the SEC).

You partnership is a great idea for getting work. Always aggressively go where your clients already are.