Starting a business that resells diff. products from other countries?

Discussion in 'Starting a Business' started by Sehn Miller, Jul 17, 2015.

1. Sehn Miller

Sehn Miller
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi! I'm new here. Like just-signed-up new.

I'm a junior high school student who has lots of business ideas but has zero knowledge on business and business laws.

So about the title... I'm thinking of starting some kind of business that works like a mini grocery store but instead of food, we have local postcards, toys, shirts, magnets, and products exclusive to that country.

Does the intended business need to secure partnerships and permission from the original stores? Is it even legal? Is it too big of a business? How does it work?

As I said, I know absolutely nothing, but I want to know about these things as early as now.

Thank you! ^_^

2. Joseph.Shivell

Joseph.Shivell
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Community Leader
    Community Leader

Basically, what you are looking to do is import items from another country and sell them here. Unfortunately, you didn't mention what country you are from, and there is apparently no way to specify it in your profile, so I don't know where "here" is. If I am correct about the type of business you wish to start, you would be obtaining merchandise from manufacturers and/or wholesalers in the country of origin, not stores. Because you would be importing merchandise from another country, there are laws that need to be followed. It may be too big of a job for a junior high student, but perhaps you can find wholesalers who already import the merchandise you need, and all you would need is the store to sell them in. There are various laws for that as well, but they wouldn't be as involved as they would if you imported the merchandise yourself.

3. Sehn Miller

Sehn Miller
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Thank you for explaining that in words that are easy to understand :)