starting a business in high school

Discussion in 'Starting a Business' started by rmwinters8, Mar 19, 2015.

1. rmwinters8

rmwinters8
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi everyone.

There is this guy at my school who, at the ripe age of 12, started a tech company with only $100 to start. I'm not at all sure how, but now, 4 years later, his company is worth nearly $4 million and growing. He was and always has been the sole owner and decision maker in the company, and I just don't understand how he was able to do this at all, let alone at his age. This has led me to want to start a business as well, but I have no experience in starting a company and have no idea how I would go about starting one and running one. I'm not just wanting this because I think it is a way to get rich quick or think it won't require any hard work. I also don't think that the kid mentioned above was anything short of amazing. However, I think I am fully capable of doing it so long as I have the required knowledge, but that's why I'm here. How, with a budget similar in size to the one above, does one go about starting a company? What is the first step? I have an idea, but what do I do with it?

I would really appreciate if I didn't get any responses that tried to deter me from doing this because of inexperience. I am just asking for ways to start this thing and get some experience under my belt. If it fails, it fails, but it doesn't really matter because I'm a freshman in high school and no failure can knock me down for too long; I'm risking nothing.

If anyone has any other resources that could help me with this process such as articles, books, or anything else that could provide assistance to me, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you all for your advice. Cheers.

2. Joseph.Shivell

Joseph.Shivell
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Community Leader
    Community Leader