Starting a Bicylce Company

Discussion in 'Starting a Business' started by Its The Patrick, May 21, 2011.

1. Its The Patrick

Its The Patrick
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello everyone,

I have been in the midst of trying to start my first company, and obviously I am a bit confused about certain aspects and I need some insight.

As some background about me: I have been working in the cycling industry for about 6 years now, and have been riding for about 13 years. I come from a family of designers, so naturally I took to designing bicycle frames and components. I decided to start a bike company about 6 months ago, and have been working heavily on a few designs to start out with.

As far as the market goes. Cycling is a rapidly growing industry, with a concentrated demographic in every major city in the U.S. and Canada. To start, I will be offering products catered to just two niches of the cycling world, but eventually I would like to cater to all.

So here is where I need some help:

I am completely lost when it comes to making a business model and/or plan. I have read a few examples, but I can't seem to figure out where to start it. I almost need a question to answer for each section of the plan, but I can't seem to formulate the questions I need to answer. Is there an outline or something that you guys can suggest for me?

Another issue I am faced with is under what type to start it under. I will be the only employee of the company and will contract out the manufacturing of the product; so I am pretty sure that it should be an LLC. I have a friend who is helping me with the accounting side of things, and she informed me that I can use the Schedule C on my tax forms to record my earnings, without going through the Secretary of State's office in creating the business. Is this true?

I appreciate the help in advanced. Thanks!

~Patrick

2. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member