Small retail shop

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by Jon Clegg, Feb 10, 2015.

1. Jon Clegg

Jon Clegg
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi, my wife and I are looking to start a small retail store. The store uses a proven model of recycling objects as art supplies, around the country they are called Creative Reuse Centers. They range from large warehouses like Art Asylum in Houston, TX, to small workshop based shops like TinkerTopia in Tacoma, WA.

We are looking to open the latter style store. My wife is a elementary art teacher with 13 years of experience, so she knows how to manage children and teach them art. I'm a software engineer, neither of us have any business experience.

We built a website, collected supplies from friends and family and are now looking to lease a space. We think we can manage with 1200-1500sqft, like TinkerTopia. Around Austin the lease rates comes to about 2k a month with NNN included.

With out combined income with have a surplus of about 3k a month, so we should be able to afford the space even if we make zero money. The goal is within a year the store can be her fulltime job and make roughly what she made as a teacher. In the meantime we may need to hire people to man the store, I work from home and have flexible hours so I can be there when no one else can make it.

Our plan is to make most of our revenue from workshops; birthday parties and workshops during the weekends, and also try to do "Sip and Paint" classes at night like "Painting with a Twist". We plan to do almost zero advertising and market using my wifes art teacher friends, social networks like mom blogs, facebook, twitter and SEO.

What makes me nervous are all the things I don't know, here is the short list: