Should I rebrand after a bad past?

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by GoodBusiness, Jun 4, 2013.

1. GoodBusiness

GoodBusiness
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Long story short...

When I was somewhat younger I did some freelance work. Basically due to motivational problems I kind of sucked at it. I did what I could but depression and stuff got in the way. Eventually I ended up screwing up. Several jobs went on undone though I didn't receive money for work I didn't do and I'd often do some and then run out of gas. As in did some parts of the work, then didn't do the rest. Basically I didn't do good. I'm not proud of it and that's an understatement. I was a crappy freelancer and screwed up at least 3 jobs right there.
    Then came the big job screw up. I was contracted to do some work for someone. I kind of had a bad habit of over-extending and being unrealistic and undercharging so after a while I faced some severe burnout. Was almost done with the job but crashed completely. It was a job that I screwed up and due to financial reasons couldn't pay it back immediately.

Fast forward a few years. I've gotten back on my feet. I'm not depressed. I'm not burned out. I'm actually fine. I started doing my work again but this time successfully. More successful than ever. Financially in a very very good spot with the potential of this becoming much much better. I went from the lowest tax bracket to the highest here and things could get pretty insane. I'm doing good.
    Good enough to pay back that debt, almost two years late, and apologize the best way I could because I realize how freakin' messed up that was that I inadvertently screwed that client (and more minorly screwed at least 3 more over a short time).

Buuut I'm concerned about my sucky past. My position at the moment is fairly public. They don't know my real name yet but it'll be out there. Then it'll just be more public.