Shareholder Agreement Advice

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by Tigger, Jun 13, 2013.

1. Tigger

Tigger
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello,

I am hoping for some business advice about formalizing a business agreement and hopefully some help to clarify some confusions I have.

My location is in Australia, so all dollar amounts I mention are in Australian dollars.

I am a software engineer, with 15 years commercial experience. For the past 18 months I have been working with two other parties (three people, in two separate parties), there was an informal arrangement that we would be starting up a new entity together and that we would be equal partners in that entity. It was an arrangement that was never formalized and has since been replaced with a new proposal that is close to being formalized.

I have been working at a reduced wage, about $40,000 p.a. I am a well rounded system architect, database designer and web application developer... basically I am competent in architecting and building everything from the database to the front end, setting up and manage servers etc. etc. So, it is entirely possible for me to find myself a $100,000+ p.a. wage in the corporate world.

The other two parties have an existing business... which has been operating for 5 or so years. One party has some skills using Excel and basic skills with Access databases, the other party has basically zero skill with software.

The industry we work in is the events industry, specifically registration and ticketing... there is a heavy component of software involved, registration websites, onsite ticketing systems, lead tracking systems... all systems are built by me. They barely get involved with testing... yet if anything goes wrong with the system there are very serious consequences, there's no second chance to run an event and leads being captured are potentially worth millions of dollars to exhibitors.

In simple terms, the proposal being put on the table is this: