SEO Techniques

Discussion in 'Search Engine Optimization' started by Robert20, Apr 7, 2011.

1. Robert20

Robert20
    uix_expand uix_collapse

What are some ways people use SEO, SEM, and SMM? I've been using Google Analytics and AdWords for SEO and the usual outlets for SMM i.e. Facebook, Twitter, etc.

I wouldn't say im a SEO expert but I do know a couple of things but wouldn't hurt to hear more tips from other people.

So post your SEO techniques

2. Joseph.Shivell

Joseph.Shivell
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Community Leader
    Community Leader

If past experience is any indication, you'll probably get a lot of replies, some of which will be useful, some not so much. You can start by checking this Featured Thread, especially the SEO Tools, Keyword Research, and Link Building.

Basically, there are three things you, or someone working on your behalf, would need to do - Keyword Research, On-Page Optimization, and Link Building. Keyword Research is to find the best keywords for your site, without being so competitive that they are beyond your reach. On-Page Optimization ensures that your site has no errors that could hold it back, and that you are not using, intentionally or otherwise, questionable techniques that can hurt your site's reputation and rankings. Link Building gives the search engines what they need to determine where your site should be in the rankings for the keyword phrase related to your website. You'll want to avoid buying links in bulk, because this is obviously fake, and could wind up hurting your rankings.

3. Ambi

Ambi
    uix_expand uix_collapse

SEO, SEM and SMM all are different. Let me explain in brief, SEO is a process to optimize your site for search engines as well as users and rank well in Search engine result pages.(its an organic process)
    SEM includes Adwards and Adsense and for these campaigns you need to pay to Google to show your links.