Self employed or Employed?

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by persevance, Mar 17, 2011.

1. persevance

persevance
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Dear all,

I have this little question out of ambiguity, am wondering if anyone is going through something similar. I have been working/partially self employed at the same trading company for 3 years to come, my role is basically sourcing and importing of products at a lower cost and get a cut out of it, also i was employed to fulfill other accounting, distribution and development duties. Concurrently i am doing my degree and will soon graduate in May 2011. This signifies a crossroad to my future or perhaps the next 10 years of my life.

I'm having mixed feelings at the same time because, after 3 years of hardwork building on this small entity, despite its still a small firm the profits i could churn out of it still seems pathetic. Of course we could say its about the passion and that it doesn't matter how much you make cause at the end of the day if you try hard enough you'll make it one day. Yes theoretically, it makes sense, but at the rate the business is moving, i really am wondering if i should face reality and get a banking job after my graduation. Though my passion lies in trading, eventually we're still bounded by responsibilities(Be it plans for marriage, getting a house, and/or to support a family). I have a sense of denial to succumb to employment yet at the same time, i somehow felt that the company i am running isn't gonna bring me far. At the same time, being in my mid twenties, i feel that i am falling behind my peers. Only making merely $40k usd (employment + partial self employed) per annum, i somehow felt i could score better in a different field.

I'm sure prestigeous business owners or currently employed professionals here had gone through this stage, and i would humbly seek for your honest advice.

Best regards,
    Persevance

2. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse