Remembering Faces and Names

Discussion in 'Self Improvement and Being Successful' started by Fergal, Feb 18, 2008.

1. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

Does anyone have any tips for remembering faces and names?

Unfortunately I'm not very good at recognising people that I haven't seen for sometime. I sometimes find it hard to figure out who someone is, when I meet them in unfamiliar settings. E.g. if I know someone a little in a work environment I sometimes do not recognise them if I meet them out socially.

Even when I recognise the person I sometimes find it hard to place them and figure out who they are and how I know them.

Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2. CEO Smith

CEO Smith
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi Fergal!!

Usually, it's really hard to recognize someone, especially if you just met him/her in an ordinary, typical place... somewhere you can't remember. Normally, you can recognize someone if he/she does something unique or you know him/her for a very long time. It's man's nature.

My best advice is that you get his/her contact number or probably write it on an organizer or diary that will help you remember names.

Regards,
    CEO Smith :)

P.S. Its recognize, not recognise. Thanks. ^_^

3. Loskas

Loskas
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I just read an article about this kind of problem on the newspaper today. I myself remember that I have seen this face before, but I'm really bad at connecting the faces to the names. I wish I could improve this skill.

4. abiji

abiji
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Well there is a memory improvement system known as "PEG SYSTEM". It helps people remember things they read, people they meet. It has been published in a lot of memory improvement books.

More information on it can be found http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mnemonic_peg_system

5. mark-20

mark-20
    uix_expand uix_collapse