Question for Business Class

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by gsdikun, Jul 16, 2013.

1. gsdikun

gsdikun
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello,

I'm a university student considering a major in business. I'm in a business class and the professor, gives "puzzles" at the end of each class. Since I'm not very knowledgeable in business yet, most of them are over my head, so I was wondering if anyone here could help me on this one.

You're a business incubator, and you're given a list of potential businesses. Each one has a sale value (price of the business), a revenue value, and a cash flow value. How would you make a decision based off these values? (Or how are these values relevant to your decision?)

Example: Sale Price: $2,300,000. Revenue: $200,000. Cash Flow: $150,000.
    Sale Price: $4,500,000. Revenue: $2,600,000. Cash Flow: $0.
    Sale Price: $175,000. Revenue: $52,000. Cash Flow: $51,000.

Any advice would be great, thanks!

• Like Like x 1
  2. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

Cash flow is vitally important. A business that has a high sales value and high revenue, will not be able to pay their rent if they have a negative cash flow. Does that help answer your question?

By the way, welcome to Business Advice Forum, it would be great if you could tell some of your class mates about our site :)

3. Business Attorney

Business Attorney
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

As Fergal said, cash flow is critically important. However, particularly in a startup, current cash flow may be deceptive. The company with the best cash flow may be a small business with no potential to expand significantly, while the business with no cash flow could be the next Facebook or Google, just getting off the ground.

The raw numbers are instructive, but in a vacuum do not provide much real guidance.

• Like Like x 1
  4. ArcSine

ArcSine
    uix_expand uix_collapse