Public Speaking.

Discussion in 'Self Improvement and Being Successful' started by JPM, Aug 10, 2011.

1. JPM

JPM
    uix_expand uix_collapse

How many of us feel comfortable when speaking in public?

How often does your job require you to do this, and how many people would you generally speak to?

2. Clint Cora

Clint Cora
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I had to do lots when I was a manager in the pharma industry. Not only did I present marketing plans to management, I did lots of presentations to our entire sales force which can be audience sizes from 40 to 100 on a regular basis. I as prepared for this when I first started doing presentations in MBA school. All of this of course led me to eventually become a professional speaker today.

Interestingly enough, I prefer larger audiences in the hundreds (or more) compared to small groups (less than 10) in seminar settings. I get more energy as a big audience speaker.

• Like Like x 1
  3. JPM

JPM
    uix_expand uix_collapse

That's interesting to hear. I was terrified when I did a best man's speech in front of 400. It was my best mate and I didn't want to mess up.

4. Gary Barzel

Gary Barzel
    uix_expand uix_collapse

One of the greatest fears most people have is public speaking. I am not sure why that it is, but it probably has a lot to do with the fact on how we want to be perceived. Nobody wants to look like a failure or appear to be weak in other peoples eyes. When we speak in public we are imagining everyone judging our every move from eye blinking all the way up to presentation. If we were to better prepare ourselves for our speech it would help calm our nerves tremendously, and quite possibly turn our speech into a memorable, and enjoyable moment.