psychology and business

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by gainesjeffreyj, Dec 16, 2013.

1. gainesjeffreyj

gainesjeffreyj
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi All -

I am a psychologist in private practice, East Coast USA.

I am starting to learn more about the business side of things, but have a lot to learn.

Currently, I am having difficulty with a business partner who handles the books.

I am the head of the practice, but this person (not a psychologist) does not want me to see the books, or have my name on the bank or credit card accounts, b/c he feels that (as he puts it), he knows the business side, and I should just let him do his job (finances), while i do mine (clinical psychology).

But, again as chief psychologist in the practice (of which I am also majority owner), I want access to all the books, line by line, as well as to bank and credit card accounts. As view only. I don't want to meddle with the accounts, but i want access, understanding of them, and oversight. Am I out of bounds here, as my partner is suggesting? I believe I have a right to see ll the books/accounts, and a responsibility (to the business, and to the 12 or so clinicians who work for us).

Any thoughts from any of the business people out there, would be much appreciated.

Should a head of a company have access to all records he or she wants, on an ongoing basis? or is that meddling?

2. Ted

Ted
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Let me ask you this....

If you're not able to view the books then who else besides him is able to view them?

Where is your system of checks and balances?

If nobody else has oversight over him in any way, then you are setting yourself up for major problems.

There must be a real reason why he doesn't want you to see the books. Maybe he is lazy about keeping up with his work and doesn't want to get caught? Maybe he has intentions of using the business as a private piggy bank? Maybe something else?