Profit in Retail

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by sheetal, Sep 8, 2011.

1. sheetal

sheetal
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi All, I am too happy to find this forum. I am desperately looking for some business advice. I am very new to business world.

I am from Mumbai, India.

I many time thought of opening retail shop. But many questions which came to my mind stopped me.
    How people having a shop can earn profit?
    For instance a T-shirt retail shop can max sell 10 shirts a day if the shop is at prime location.
    Each shirt can max give 25 Rs profit. (10*25=250 Rs a day i.e. 7500 a month assuming all day open).
    I need to pay the shop rent (7000 Rs Approx)+electricity bill+ the helper wages.
    Then how one can make profit?

Even though the sell increases the profit margins will not be high. Also during the down season (rains) the sale will further go down. Yes, during festival time it would be high but not to give much profit.

But still I have seen many shops running for a long, even the small margin shops. How they manage?
    I am missing on some important concept, can you help.
    Are there any books which will clear my concepts?

#1 sheetal, Sep 8, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011
  2. ArcSine

ArcSine
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Greetings, Sheetal.

Your approach in analyzing the potential is generally on track. You've got three key components which must be forecast as accurately as possible.

• Operating expenses. Usually one of the easy ones to pin down. Rent, utilities, insurance, wages....With some adequate research you'll be able to forecast these numbers within a small margin of error. But be conservative and try to anticipate every possible expense. Talking with similar retailers who've been in business for a while could be quite valuable.