Pricing policies immoral?

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by elle310, Oct 6, 2010.

1. elle310

elle310
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Here is a situation, do you think this is moral? Or is is economical?

A retailer of large home appliances advertises that if customers find a better price for the exact same product at another retailer, it will reimburse the customer the difference between the two prices plus 10%. This retailer then makes arrangements with the appliance manufacturer to carry the same appliances under different model numbers and/or serial numbers, i.e., model numbers that no other retailer has available.

2. PaulPinnacle

PaulPinnacle
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I've no knowledge in this area (I'm speaking as a consumer here and not giving a legal or knowledgeable point of view, simply a personal one), but I'd believe that goes past a question of morality and falls into a question of legality.

I'd assume it is a relatively straight forward case of false advertising... or at least I'd hope it would (I'd certainly wish the company the best of luck if they tried the "but it's a different model number" on me :p).

3. Kay

Kay
    uix_expand uix_collapse

LOL, me too! They would be tangling with the wrong person. I agree completely that would be false advertising, if not plain old fraudulent practices. It's certainly not economical if they have to pay for a court case, the loss of sales because of bad publicity and absorb any drop in any share value, plus fines.

4. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member