Personal Challenges in business

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by greenflag, Sep 19, 2013.

1. greenflag

greenflag
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi all,

I'm at a crossroad in life and I need some advice. I don't know if many people will be able to relate to this but I've been seeking advice from other relevant boards, however this is the first time that I'm seeking advice on a business advice board. Pls read and drop a thought if you can.

For many years I ran my business from home* despite job offers from local companies, and I was buying products in bulk and distributing to wholesellers. This ran well but of recent it has been struggling and it has been causing me a lot of worry.

As luck would have it, I just got offered the opportunity to represent a foreign company's business activities. I have no experience in the industry they work in, however they claim that my greatest value would be in meeting the buyers on a day-to-day basis, that it would involve a lot of socializing, that I would be on the road constantly, that it would be stressful, and that I would learn on the job and eventually build my own customer base. The reason I got offered this is because the person who offered it to me knew that I was struggling in my current business, but has also said that there are no hard feelings if I decline the offer as he has spoken to others as well. However it is not a job, it is an opportunity to work on a self-employed basis representing them.

Now read this: