New Partnership

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by TNSMachines, Oct 30, 2011.

1. TNSMachines

TNSMachines
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello,
    I've been a business owner for just over 20 years. I started my company in 1990. T&S Machines and Tools manufactures automotive and balancing equipment. We did very well in the 90's and after 2001 the automotive industry just hasn't been the same. Our best year we did $1.2m in revenue. Since 2001 we've had years where we only did about 400-500k.. I had to lay off all of my help and it took a lot just to keep the bills paid.

My son graduated from college in August 2009 with a business degree. He is currently working full time with me rebuilding this business and going to school online to get his MBA. I would like to involve him in the business and let him take some ownership in it. I don't know what the best way to do this is. Right now the shares of the business are equally divided between my wife and I. I would like to try and find a way so that my son, wife and I can each hold 1/3 of the shares each. I feel like that would give my son more incentive to help build up the company and together we can really make this thing work again. Can someone help me with ideas of how to split up the business now? We would like to divide it up before we are really talking about a large deal of money. Things are small and simple now and I feel it would be easiest to do it now rather than later assuming we are able to grow the business into something substantial. Simply giving him a number of shares he will have to pay taxes on, which he can't afford. Should we start a new partnership and dissolve the old one? Will he have to purchase the shares to make this doable?

Thank you.

Tim

2. ArcSine

ArcSine
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Greetings, Tim.