New business has me nervous

Discussion in 'Starting a Business' started by bravo2aviation, Jul 23, 2008.

1. bravo2aviation

bravo2aviation
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello, as a first time business owner, I am WAY under-educated. I opened an aircraft repair shop at the largest airport in my area. Had the city/airport commission pulling for me 100%. There was a shop there several years ago, and he stayed unbelievably busy. My operating costs are not that bad: insurance, rent, utilities, etc. My problem is that with all the building up, and general buzz about finally scoring another full time facility, I've seen almost nothing. And I mean NOTHING! I've been open 3 months, my phone has rang 4 times, and I've grossed $600. I can't afford the advertisements that I need in the commercial pubs, so I made my own, and have traveled a 400 mile radius, to no avail. I started wondering in the beginning if this might be the case, so my father bought a wrecked airplane for me to rebuild and sell, and that's all working out, but I need to draw the business in!!! Everyone's so glad to have me, but apparently not glad enough to let me have their business. I have an excellent reputation, and am good at what I do, so I'm stumped. Fuel costs can't be the only reason. What am I overlooking? Any I deas? Thanks, bravo

2. Zantetsken

Zantetsken
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I don't know anything about aircrafts, but maybe they don't need repairs? Or maybe they just aren't entirely aware of your repair shop?

I don't know much about this, so I don't know what to say, but I hope things start looking better for you...

3. Nazreen

Nazreen
    uix_expand uix_collapse

First of all, let me welcome you to the Business Advice Forum bravo.