Need help on online marketing

Discussion in 'Internet Marketing' started by An Alien, Jan 17, 2011.

1. An Alien

An Alien
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi, I'm an internet noob.
    I have a small transportation business. I already have a website (IDK if I am allowed to post it) and I've heard that social networking is a good way to advertise it. Also, I think the only online advertising I'm using right now is google places which was adwords before but IDK they transferred it. Please give me tips/ideas on how I can advertise my business.

2. Joseph.Shivell

Joseph.Shivell
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Community Leader
    Community Leader

Social networking has become a popular way for website owners to gain more traffic to their website, and or to create a buzz about their website or product. It is also used by business owners to keep their customers and prospects informed. In your case, however, I think SEO is a better avenue, and I'm not just saying that because we provide SEO services - we also can set up social media packages as well.
    To make the explanation why easier, I'll use a hypothetical example. Let's say someone comes up with a new toy, but no one knows what it is. They can't use SEO to increase traffic to their website because no one would know what to search for. They could, however, create a social media campaign on sites such as Facebook to increase awareness of the new toy, perhaps even a contest to give some away. Other businesses, such as restaurants, could use social media to "friend" potential customers, giving special deals to their "friends". However, for a transportation business, I don't think this would work.