Need help on how to set up website where members rent/sell goods to each other

Discussion in 'Website Development & Design' started by drums1213, Aug 7, 2016.

1. drums1213

drums1213
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi all,

I'm new to this and am trying to figure out where to turn to start up this online business. I own a domain name for my business through godaddy and am unsure where to turn for website development. I know of ecommerce (Shopify), godaddy web dev., wordpress, etc. but I'm not sure which, if any, of these would work for the idea I have.

In simplest terms, my idea is to create a community where the members can rent and/or sell a niche product to people interested in trying out the product before deciding to buy. I would then collect a commission on these transactions. I don't plan on charging any sort of membership fee, just the commission/transactional fee.

Any advice on where to get started would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
    Ryan

2. fisicx

fisicx
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Community Liaison 1.0

How much money have you got? You could get the site built for a few thousand but marketing will probably cost you 10 times that.

As an aside, this sort of thing has been tried many times before and failed to survive. Everybody wants the free trial but nobody wants to buy. The costs of shipping products back and forth makes the model unsustainable.

3. drums1213

drums1213
    uix_expand uix_collapse

@fisicx I believe that discussing the feasibility of the idea precedes any discussion on investment into the business.