My Marathon Goal

Discussion in 'Self Improvement and Being Successful' started by Fergal, Apr 19, 2009.

1. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

last year, I started training to run a marathon. Unfortunately I got injured and was unable to maintain the training programme and complete a marathon. This year, my joints are still not strong enough to go out running and my goal is to walk a marathon.

I'm walking four days a week and am disciplined in following a training programme. If I'm to complete my goal, I need to improve my diet so that my body remains fit and strong enough to complete the training and the marathon itself. Another area where I need to improve is in following a good stretching regime.

My joints, especially my knees, still get sore at times and they don't feel great during long walks. So I hope that they hold out and I can complete the marathon.

Please wish me luck!

2. scifi

scifi
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Fergal, it is a very great & infact gutsy goal..my Wishes are with you.. I am also an athlete & have won several prizes in the same till my matriculation level, though have not taken it professionally... An advice for you is that while you drink water, drink it in a sitting position , not in standing position..This advice though seems to be very sluggish in nature but believe results are wonderful...It will be good for your knees & joints..!!!:)

3. flashgordonweb

flashgordonweb
    uix_expand uix_collapse

What a great goal. Stick with it and make it happen! I've run one once and it was sure worth all of the effort. Best of luck!!!!

4. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

Thanks for your kind support Flash and Scifi, and well done to you both on your athletic achievements. I've a long way to go before I'm at your level and I will keep you updated on my progress. Posting here will also help to keep me motivated.