Miscellaneous Business Certifications

Discussion in 'Self Improvement and Being Successful' started by TheFuzz1292, Aug 21, 2011.

1. TheFuzz1292

TheFuzz1292
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I'll give you guys a little background before getting to the main question. I'm currently a police officer of 8 years (with 2 prior years of management experience) and I have just obtained my BA in Organizational Management. I'm looking to transition to the private sector and I know I have several skills that would translate well to business. However, I'm having a hard time finding positions I'm qualified for. I can find several that I meet 1/3 or 1/2 of the qualifications, with a few that I can learn along the way, but several seem to want certain experience (Six Sigma, Project Manager, etc). The question is, would receiving a certification in said specialty be a way in for some of the jobs that don't require a lot of experience (ie. 1-2 years experience)?

I have several options to receive a Six Sigma or Project Manager certification, which seem to be the two most desirable traits in many of the jobs I've looked at. I also have options to receive Human Resource, Grant Writing, and other less desired certification. Also, should I attempt to receive more than one, or just concentrate on a specialty? In law enforcement, being a "jack of all trades" helps you in advancing, but I assume that is not necessarily true in the private sector.

Thanks!

2. HorizonPath.net

HorizonPath.net
    uix_expand uix_collapse