Looking to help improve a family members business

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by tjsmar, May 12, 2013.

1. tjsmar

tjsmar
    uix_expand uix_collapse

So for starters I am a college student right now working for my mechanical engineering degree. I was offered a summer internship with my girlfriends grandfathers company. He owns a family welding business and currently business has taken off. However the number of in house employees is still about the same. Right now they went from having 1 job site to manage, to two job sites about 500 miles apart. Her grandpa is in the furthest job site, and the rest of his crew is at the second. He has worked his whole life and is nearing the age that he needs to look at retirement. With my internship I would like to help bring his company up to date with technology and help them as much as i can. He is not exactly familiar with technology, and his office manager isn't either. They use computers for banking and everything, but I feel it could go further. I think he would feel comfortable working from his home again if he could see everything going on with the businesses. I was thinking of setting up the managers at each job site with maybe a laptop or tablet, and have them update everything done that day and have it sent to the company where he could see it. Also the addition of Skype so if they needed him to see something he could see it. However, I am not sure how to implement everything and what else I could help bring to the company. After college I want to start my own company so this would be an amazing experience if done successfully. I talked to my girlfriend and she said if I could compile some ideas, he would more than happily listen and see what we could do. So, does anyone else have any other ideas to bring the company further into the 21st century?

2. magician661

magician661
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi tjsmar,Welcome to Business Advice Forum.Thanks for joining BAF.