Liberal Arts BA Job Suggestions

Discussion in 'Self Improvement and Being Successful' started by preciosa001264, Jun 22, 2010.

1. preciosa001264

uix_expand uix_collapse

Jun 20, 2010
    Hello everyone! I am new to the forum, so I apologize if this thread is misplaced. I graduated from The University of Chicago just a few weeks ago with a BA in Romance Languages and Literatures (I plan to go into business at the international level). However, the majority of my electives are in econ, stats, calc, etc and I have been very involved with a Women in Business club where I've had the opportunity to practice many financial tools such as valuations and excel modeling (like DCF). Unfortunately, I was unable to do any sort of business/finance-related internships during my academic career (I have other work experience though) and it seems that while I have at least the very basic knowledge, firms don't seem willing to risk hiring someone who doesn't have a more appropriate major.

Does anyone have any suggestions for less competitive/finance major specific jobs that I might have a better chance at? I plan to start a part-time MBA program in two years so I'd really like to see where my interests lie. I've considered administrative or executive assistant work at a financial firm where I would hope to take on more technical responsibilities. I've also applied for a few management and operations-like positions without much luck. Suggestions of any sort would be extremely appreciated! Thank you!
  2. Kay

uix_expand uix_collapse

Sep 29, 2008
    Congratulations on your graduation and welcome to Business Advice Forum, preciosa. :D