Legal Issues

Discussion in 'Legal and HR' started by dmklawyer, Apr 18, 2010.

1. dmklawyer

dmklawyer
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hello everybody. I am a recent law graduate, struggling to find a job (like many others), and have recently decided to hang up my shingle and start a practice designed to help small businesses. Right now I am trying to determine what services I can offer so that I can take continuing legal eduction etc. and be prepared for my clients.

My first question to everybody is what type of legal issues do you most frequently run into? examples would be trying to form the legal business entity (corporation, llc, partnerships agreements), contracts, real estate, legal disputes, intellectual property issues.

Which ones do you take care of on your own and which ones do you seek help from a lawyer?

If you run into a problem, and aren't sure if it involves a legal issue, would you ask your lawyer if it involves a legal issue or would you chance it out of fear of being overcharged for a non-issue?

Thank you in advanced!

2. Tecknowoman

Tecknowoman
    uix_expand uix_collapse

The biggest issues I have faced in numerous businesses are;
    what legal structure for business,
    JV and partnership agreement drafting,
    employee and contractor contracts,
    lease contracts
    What would have made life so much easier would have been a lawyer who had a number of templates online that smaller businesses could start with (at a license to use fee) with a disclaimer proviso to get them checked over for your specific business and a costed service to review/approve contracts based on those templates (affordable and removes risk for business). In my experience a lot of small business are scared by lawyers and in many cases would rather risk it winging it without legal advice than risk using a lawyer.