Legal Concerns with blogging

Discussion in 'Legal and HR' started by kyle429, Feb 20, 2012.

1. kyle429

kyle429
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I have recently created a blog about making money online. In this blog I promote certain cites, and say which sites are better at making money than others. Eventually I will be saying which sites are just scams.

Recently someone brought up that there might be legal issues associated with my blog, due to how I am saying that some sites are not as good as others, they might want to sue me for defamation, or slander (or something like that, I am not a lawyer, so I dont know for sure). I have a disclosure, but I am not sure if this is enough. Its a fairly long and thorough, you can check it out here if you would like:

http://economicredundancy.blogspot.com/p/disclaimer.html

My question to all of you is if this is enough? And if it isnt, what else do I need to include on it? And what else do I need to legally worry about? And how would I just be able to avoid needing a disclosure in the first place? (even though I would of course keep it no matter what) And is there anything else I can do to protect my self?

Thanks in advance for all your help!

2. jcworlditsme

jcworlditsme
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I wouldn't have thought this to be a problem as it comes under free speech rules, but I'm not sure.

3. gmichel

gmichel
    uix_expand uix_collapse

There are many sites where people give their opinions about products: electronics, trip adviser, etc...
    Do they get legal problems?

People just give their opinion, I do not see any problem with that. This of course depend on the country you live, if there is free speech or not.
    Defamation would be if you give the name of someone and write things that are untrue. I do not think there is a problem with sites.
    You should give a chance to the persons in charge of the sites you discribe to post a reply on what you say if they do not agree.

My 2 cents.

Michel

4. Sahil