Learning the basics of graphic design?

Discussion in 'Website Development & Design' started by Fergal, Aug 7, 2012.

1. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

I've no intention of becoming a graphic designer or even designing my own images. However, what I would like to improve my knowledge of graphic design to achieve the following;

• A better understanding of images as regards to how they are created and displayed on websites
    • Basic image editing - really simple stuff such as cropping an image, re-sizing an image or other very minor changes to an existing image.

How would you suggest I go about acquiring this knowledge?

Thanks!

2. pandaa

pandaa
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I'm not good at graphic design either, but the best way is to just plunge in, I would think. Get a photo editor such as GIMP, and mess around with the settings. That's how I learned. :)

• Like Like x 1
  3. BAFHarvest

BAFHarvest
    uix_expand uix_collapse

i would suggest you must learn ADOBE photoshop, that is a simple image editor but has great functionality. if you are interested on learning that, then you could ask what you want to learn and we will support you Mr. Fergal. or pm me. :)

• Like Like x 1
  4. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

Thanks for the suggestion pandaa, I've had a look at the GIMP website. The software looks great and there seems to be a lot of useful resources and supporting documentation to make learning it easier. I may well take a look at that.

Thanks for the suggestion BAFHarvest and your offer to help. PhotoShop is quite expensive software and I really just want to get a basic knowledge, hence I don't plan on spending that much at this time.

5. SeanFace101

SeanFace101
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Decide on what oftware you are wanting to use, wiether it be photoshop, gimp or something else.