jobless webdevloper

Discussion in 'Employer Issues' started by anon1234, Mar 2, 2016.

1. anon1234

anon1234
    uix_expand uix_collapse

i learnd web development years ago.
    i know how to program client/server side, i created a few database and user based projects.

but i cant find any stable income those clients that i do find try to use me and pay as little as they can, amounts im ashamed to tell about.

i dont know what to do anymore, soon ill need to go back to physical labor work. im a programmer an intelligent person i dont want to be treated like dirt again.

i know that there are people with the knowledge that can help me make a living from this profession.
    i know that there is alot of work worldwide in web development.

please someone help me, send me a private message write it here please help me.

2. CWPDEV

CWPDEV
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hey Anon,
    It's definitely tough to scrap out a living in web development--especially with the global level of competition. Some of the strategies I've been successful with are:
    -Build a base in the freelance markets (I use Guru.com, but Upwork is the largest market place out there right now), The jobs are cheap, but it's a good location to meet new customers, build relations and see industry trends.
    -Establish your site. It took me a long to to realize the importance of this, and I'm still working bringing mine up to snuff. But a web developer needs a good storefront on the web.
    -Sustain long term relationships with your customers--you'll both be happier with a well establish business relationship than a fly-by-night project.
    -Be present in social media.
    -Be available for multiple forms of communication: not just email, but customers value Skype, Phone, and text as well.

3. rf-harris

rf-harris
    uix_expand uix_collapse