Important decision for my business

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by smashrc, Jun 21, 2011.

1. smashrc

smashrc
    uix_expand uix_collapse

I have been running an online business for 7 years. Started at home, now have 15 employees and distribute many brands name.You can say my business is a buying and selling business. And the profit of doing buy and sell is very limited, just like 10%. So, I'm kind of hopeless to expend my business for only doing buy and sell.
    Started this year, I have been working with many manufactures on producing my own brand of products. By doing this I can sell my product with a few 100 % of profit. I think this is the only way to go if I want to expend the business. Now comes a big decision to make. Which selling method should I go?

1. The usual way. manufacture sell to distributors then to retailers
    Good:
    Less trouble on handling end user
    Easier to promote
    Know more people in the same sector

Bad:
    Less profit

2. Using my online store to sell direct to end user.
    Good:
    Boost up the sales of my web for other products
    More profit

Bad
    More trouble on handling end user
    Leak of promotion

2. Fergal

Fergal
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Premium Member
    Premium Member

smashrc well done on growing your business to the size it is today, that really is a great achievement, congratulations.