im hoping to get some advice on my small business

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by juststartinout, Oct 26, 2011.

1. juststartinout

juststartinout
    uix_expand uix_collapse

hi there everyone, im new in this forum so..ill be in your care from now on!

a summary about me:
    - im a small business owner in a wholesale market in jakarta, indonesia.
    - the market is huge and almost everyone sells wholesale goods, ranging from hats to shoes.
    - myself, i sell children clothes mainly: shirts, tees and pants.
    - i get these goods from various places. i have many suppliers, but i do not make any goods myself.
    - people from all over the country come to this wholesale market and purchase goods to bring back to their respective towns to sell.
    - my customers come from nearby towns and some international ones (sri lanka and india for example)

what i found out after a couple of years in the business:
    - there is the peak season, and the off season.
    - the peak season is 1) the few months before the muslim holiday come (around august) and 2) the few months before the sri lanka holidays come (around april)
    - this gives me approximately 7 months of off season in a year.
    - during the off season, the wholesale market is very quiet (at least for children clothes)
    - during these 7 months i can safely say 98% of the market is quiet, 2% of the market is quite lively.

my problem:
    - i find that 7 months of unproductivity is taking its toll on me.
    - this means little or no sale on most days.
    - the money i earn from these 7 months can barely cover my expenses (workers wage and rent)

what i want:
    - i wish to increase productivity during these 7 months
    - i wish to be the 2% of the market

what i think can be done:
    - i think i need to make my own goods under my own brand so i can compete with the rest of the people who have the same goods as me. (my suppliers supply them too)