Idea for Business

Discussion in 'Growing and Managing a Business' started by Mlewis904, Aug 30, 2013.

1. Mlewis904

Mlewis904
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hi there! My name is Morgan Lewis and I am a licensed massage therapist as well as a writer, musician, and just I enjoy all things like most people do. I have a question. I was thinking about putting together a non for profit or a for profit but Im not sure where to start. If I go the non for profit way then I need a board of directors in which I can not seem find any. People seem interested but they dont have enough time to invest, plus women in business are hard to take seriously apparently. It seems like the biggest problem facing people right now is not being a job that they enjoy. My idea is called Art of Flow; A movement center. The idea is basically, massage therapy, movement therapy, music therapy, art therapy as well as merchandise created by local artists. Energy being expressed and suppressed with drugs, alcohol or even thoughts. To create a center where people can come and get things out in a healthy alternative way. What would be your best way to approach this. I only know how to put together a massage business, but its hard because I'd like to have my friends be a part of my business as well. So what would you do. Any advice would help. A business grant/loan? What comes first. And are angel investors worth looking into? Thanks so much and have a great day.

2. amwarner

amwarner
    uix_expand uix_collapse

Hmm ... Business and friends rarely mix just a word of advice. Don't being your friends into business just because you think it'll be "cool" to work together ... that type of mentality usually ends up with friends not being friends. If you're thinking of working with people, make sure they have passion for business and are willing to do work.